Home » Latest News »Test Cricket » Currently Reading:

England announce test squad for India tour, Kevin Pietersen, Bopara dropped

September 18, 2012 Latest News, Test Cricket  Posted by   No Comments

Controversial cricketer Kevin Pietersen and struggling Ravi Bopara were not included in 16-member England’s squad for the four-match Test series against India on Tuesday, which begins from November 15.

England’s 16-member squad for the India tour included as many as three spinners — Monty Panesar, Samit Patel and Graeme Swann.

The 21-year-old Yorkshire cricketer Joe Root has been included in the tour party, the BBC reported.

Earlier, reports suggested that Pietersen could resume his England career during the tour of India after the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that Thursday’s planned squad announcement had been put back until Tuesday at the earliest.

Pietersen, England’s most talented batsman, remains in international exile following a series of flare-ups that led to him being dropped following the drawn second Test with South Africa at Headingley last month.

He’s not in the England squad that will defend their World Twenty20 title in Sri Lanka later this month, despite being man of the tournament when the team won in the Caribbean two years ago, and there had been speculation he would also be omitted from the four-Test tour of India starting in November.

England Test squad for India:

Alastair Cook (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Nick Compton, Steven Finn, Graham Onions, Eoin Morgan, Monty Panesar, Samit Patel, Matt Prior (wk), Joe Root, Graeme Swann, Jonathan Trott.

Comment on this Article:



Live Cricket and Sports Streams