Home » Latest News »ODI »Test Cricket » Currently Reading:

Indian squad for New Zealand series announced, Laxman retained

August 10, 2012 Latest News, ODI, Test Cricket  Posted by   No Comments

The Indian squad for the upcoming Test series against New Zealand has been announced by the national selectors on Friday.

Earlier, there were speculations regarding Laxman’s future in the India Test team as the batsman has been out of forma nd many questions were raised over his fitness.

Sachin Tendulkar rejoins the Indian team as he was rested for the ODI series in Sri Lanka. Suresh Raina gets another opportunity in the longer format of the game. Raina played his last Test in August last year against England.

New Zealand play a two-Test series against India starting August 23 and Ross Taylor will lead the side in the absence of Vettori.

The Kiwis will be without talismanic skipper Daniel Vettori in their upcoming tour of India due to a groin injury and has been replaced by off-spinner Jeetan Patel in the 15-man Test squad announced on Tuesday.

India squad: MS Dhoni (c), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ravichandran Ashwin, Zaheer khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane, Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma, Suresh Raina

New Zealand Squad: Ross Taylor (c), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tarun Nethula, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Kruger van Wyk, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.

Comment on this Article:



Live Cricket and Sports Streams