Home » Latest News »ODI »Schedule » Currently Reading:

Match Today: India v New Zealand, 4th ODI, New Zealand in India (2010), Bangalore

December 7, 2010 Latest News, ODI, Schedule  Posted by   No Comments

India play New Zealand in the fourth ODI of the series at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. This is an inconsequential game given that India has already won the series. Given New Zealand’s performance in the series so far, the chances of a 5-0 whitewash are already being spoken of. New Zealand has already lost a series 4-0 before this and with the return of India’s main bowlers for the rest of the series in Zaheer Khan and Praveen Kumar, New Zealand will have it difficult.

New Zealand has failed to bat as well as they needed to in this series. The injury to Jesse Ryder, absence of Brendon McCullum from the first couple of games and the total lack of form for Ross Taylor has affected them no ends. Unless the last two of the aforementioned players can get going and score a big one, it looks highly unlikely that the side will be able to challenge the might of the Indian batsmen. James Franklin’s selection proved to be a master-stroke in the context of the series, but his half-century wasn’t enough to pull the side out of the mire. The side will hope that Jamie How gets fit for this game and replaces Gareth Hopkins from the side.

India has no such worries. Gautam Gambhir has not only captained well enough to win the three games in a row but also smashed a couple of tons. He will be eyeing for a third century in succession, while Virat Kohli will aim to get to his second one. Kohli’s form has been undeniably good and despite the want for experimentation, Kohli could be the last batsman wanting to sit out. Instead, one gets the sense that Saurabh Tiwary could come into the side for Murali Vijay and play his second game of his career. Yuvraj Singh is another batsman who would be hoping to get a bat, something that has been difficult in the series given the manner in which the top-order has performed for India.

The game will be a day-night encounter and the one way that the Kiwis can hope to push the home team is by batting first, getting to a 275 plus score and then bowling well with the new ball. The Bangalore track helps the pace bowlers and with the dew on it, the ball could zip around a little and put pressure on the Indians who are not known to be great players of pace bowling.

Match Timings: Dec 07, 2010 (14:30 local | 09:00 GMT | 14:30 IST)

India (possible): 1 M Vijay, 2 Gautam Gambhir (capt), 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Yusuf Pathan, 6 Saurabh Tiwary/Rohit Sharma, 7 Parthiv Patel (wk), 8 R Ashwin, 9, 10 and 11 three out of Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra and Munaf Patel.

New Zealand (possible): 1 Brendon McCullum (wk), 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Ross Taylor, 4 Kane Williamson, 5 Scott Styris, 6 James Franklin, 7 Daniel Vettori (capt), 8 Nathan McCullum, 9 Tim Southee/Grant Elliott/Gareth Hopkins, 10 Kyle Mills, 11 Andy McKay.

Catch the action of India vs New Zealand 4th ODI New Zealand tour of India (2010) LIVE @TheCricket-TV

More India vs New Zealand 2010 Highlights, News, Stats

Comment on this Article:



Live Cricket and Sports Streams