Home » ICC World Twenty20 »Latest News » Currently Reading:

Preview: Pakistan vs England Warm-up match T20 World Cup 2012

September 18, 2012 ICC World Twenty20, Latest News  Posted by   No Comments

Pakistan take on England in a warm-up match scheduled a day after the start of the T20 World Cup 2012 tournament. This will be a good warm-up game for both the teams as they will be playing on one of the venue for the tournament and this will help them to access the conditions.

Both teams started with a warm-up game against their old arch rivals. England played against Australia and beating them by 9 runs while Pakistan played against India and they beat India by 5 wickets in a close game in last over. So the teams have started well and now will look to continue the momentum.

Pakistan performance against India was more like a one man show. Kamran Akmal unbeaten 92 runs off 50 balls guided them to a superb win but there bowlers were not able to give their best. Pakistan key bowlers Sohail Tanvir (11.66), Mohammad Sami (15.50) and Shahid Afridi (10.25) all proving expensive against the superb knock by Virat Kohli (75 n.o.) and Rohit Sharma (56). They need to work on their bowling in last warm-up match.

England, on other hand, had a good warm-up game against Australia. England batsman scored runs exepcailly Alex Hales (52), Luke Wright (35) and Eoin Morgan (30), while all five bowlers in operation – Steven Finn, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann and Danny Briggs – picked up wickets. This is definitely a positive thing for England and they just need to get the momentum going.

The clash between the two sides will help them access their strengths and weakness as they move forward to fight for the T20 World Cup title for the second time.

England: Jos Buttler, Danny Briggs, Craig Kieswetter (wk), Eoin Morgan, Jonathan Bairstow, Ravi Bopara, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Steven Finn, Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad (c), Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Samit Patel

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (c), Nasir Jamshed, Imran Nazir, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal (wk), Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal, Asad Shafiq, Yasir Arafat, Abdul Razzaq, Raza Hasan

Comment on this Article:



Live Cricket and Sports Streams